Make Your Nominations Now for the 2021 AgriGrowth Distinguished Service Award

May 13, 2021

Nominations are no longer being accepted for the 2021 AgriGrowth Distinguished Service Award. We will announce this year's winner at the 2021 Minnesota Ag & Food Summit on November 4, 2021.


Since 1968, it has been an AgriGrowth tradition to present an individual member, team or organization with a Distinguished Service Award. Recipients are selected for their unique service and significant contributions to strengthening food systems and agriculture in Minnesota.

Award recipients are announced during the Minnesota Ag & Food Summit each November, if a recipient is chosen. Nominations for the 2021 Distinguished Service Award Winner closed on July 9, 2021.


Nominees can be individuals, teams or organizations. Nominees should be either currently, or within the past 24 months, working on something that significantly contributes to the strengthening of the food systems and agriculture. Past winners are currently not eligible to receive this award again. Current staff or board members of the MN AgriGrowth Council are not eligible for this award.


Consider nominating an individual, team or organization that has given unique service and/or provided a significant contribution to strengthening food systems and agriculture. Please include their years of service to MN Agriculture, role of positions held, significant achievements, or leadership or history in MN agri-food. Simply complete the nomination form online by the deadline below. We require you provide us with the contact information of the nominee so we may reach out to them directly.  


Nomination Deadline: July 9, 2021


The award winner will be chosen by a committee formed from the AgriGrowth board of directors. If no qualified applicants are submitted, no winner may be chosen. Winner will be notified via email by August 1, 2021.


The nominee that is selected will be asked to participate in the creation of a video and to attend the MN Ag & Food Summit event at the Minneapolis Convention Center on November 4, 2021 to accept their award on stage and say a few words to those in attendance. Attendance at the event is preferred, but not required.


Bob Christensen (2007)

Collin Peterson (2008)

Don Helgeson (2009)

Gene Hugoson (2010)

The Minnesota Model for Food Safety Partnership (2011)

Riverview LLP (2012)

Rob Zeaske (2013)

Paul DeBriyn (2014)

Dr. Marla Spivak (2015)

Dr. Bill Hartmann (2016)

Dr. Mark Seeley (2017)

Dave Torgerson (2019)

Kent Thiesse (2020)


If you have questions, they may be directed to Tamara Nelsen, Executive Director, at 651-905-8900 or you may email her at

Get In Touch

Have a Question about AgriGrowth? Contact Us Today!
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.